O’Donnell Reflects on Aruba Basketball Trip

Washington College women’s basketball captain Sally O’Donnell (Cape May Court House, NJ/Wildwood Catholic), a rising senior, recently played for a United States All-Star team along with rising junior Erin Kile (Benton, PA/Benton) at the 2011 Aruba Friendship Series. O’Donnell reflects on the experience.

After spending eight days in Aruba, I came back with much more than a great tan. I was asked back in October by USA Athletes International to participate in the Aruba Friendship Series to take place in the beginning of June. I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to go with my teammate, Erin Kile. Together, we had the experience of a lifetime, competing internationally while exploring the island of Aruba.

I was shocked at how much culture and beauty could be on an island only 21 miles in length. Every day there was something new to enjoy. One day we took an off-roading jeep tour to see the hidden treasures that Aruba has. The drive itself was an adventure. I was surprised at how mountainous the island really is, and we spent most of our drive climbing huge rocks and going up and down mountains. However, the views were completely worth it! Among the sites were numerous natural bridges, the natural pool, ancient gold mining ruins, and the seemingly endless crystal clear blue water. Pictures and descriptions truly do not do the real thing justice. It was definitely my most favorite day, despite the sunburn I acquired.

We played five games over the course of the trip, three against the Aruban national women’s team and two against a 17-18 year old boys team. We won three of five games, which we were all pretty happy about considering we were playing against men who were all almost as tall as Kile with wingspans that nearly doubled ours. Despite each team’s competitive edge, there was a constant support that we always felt. The locals welcomed us and constantly treated us with kindness and hospitality.

The one truly unforgettable experience that I had in Aruba was after one of our games. We had a following of about five young boys that couldn’t have been any older than eight or nine. They came to all of our games and constantly cheered for us. A few of us decided to give them our blue USA jerseys after our last game. The excitement among all of them was truly overwhelming and humbling at the same time. After playing a full game in 85 degree weather while wearing those jerseys, we were shocked that they didn’t care whatsoever and threw them right on. The little boy that I gave my jersey to told me (in broken English) “I promise to practice. I will shoot like you.” While we were leaving, they ran after our van still wearing our jerseys and the biggest smiles I’ve ever seen. That was when I knew that my trip there meant more than just playing basketball, touring the island and getting a tan. Having the opportunity to give such a small gesture in my eyes and it making such an impact on someone else was worth so much more than I could have imagined.

About WAC Basketball "Our Time Is Now"

http://washingtoncollegesports.com/sports/wbkb/index
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment